Fayette County Building Department

The Fayette County Building Department is the jurisdictional authority for commercial construction within Fayette County, Ohio, and residential construction located outside the City of Washington CH, Ohio. 

The Fayette County Building Department enforces the 2017 Ohio Building Code for commercial construction and the 2019 Residential Code of Ohio for residential construction.  The establishment of these codes are to create uniform minimum requirements for the erection, construction, repair, alteration and maintenance of buildings.  These requirements relate to the conservation of energy, safety and sanitation of buildings for their intended use and occupancy.

Permits are issued for new construction, additions and alterations to existing buildings, signs, solar panel installations, demolition, and other work being completed.  Please contact the Fayette County Building Department prior the start of a construction project and we will work with you through the process of obtaining the necessary construction permits.

Fayette County Building Department 

     121 E. East Street
     Washington Court House, OH 43160
     Phone: 740.335.2212
     Fax:      740.335.6644

M - F
     7:30 AM - 4:00 PM  (Closed Lunch  - 12 to 1)


The Ohio Contractor Licensing Law requires building departments have a registration in place to require a contractor State of Ohio License before issuing commercial permits.

Fayette County requires  contractor registration for all contractors doing work on commercial projects in Fayette County and residential projects within our
See contractor information tab for information on how to become registered.

The State of Ohio requires commercial contractors in five specialty trades (Electrical, HVAC, Refrigeration, Plumbing and Hydronics) to be State of Ohio licensed in their trade when working on commercial projects subject to the requirements of the Ohio Building Code.  
See contractor information tab for more information and reciprocity with other states.