Fayette County - Ohio


Phone: 740.335.0888

Fax: 740.333.3539

E-mail: jess.weade@fayette-co-oh.com



Fayette County Prosecutor

110 E. Court Street

Washington Court House, Ohio 43160

Office Hours:


Monday thru Thursday

8:00 AM to 5:00 PM


8:00 AM to 4:00 PM


Prosecutor: Jess Weade

Assistant Prosecuting Attorney: Daniel Drake
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney: John Scott
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney: Sean Abbott

Office Administrator: Cindy Seaton

Administrative Assistant: April Keaton


Prosecuting Attorney’s . . . . Duties and Responsibilities

Organization of the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office

The Prosecuting Attorney’s office by Ohio law may inquire into crimes committed within the county; shall prosecute all complaints, suits, and controversies in which the state is a party, except for those required to be prosecuted by a special prosecutor  or by the Ohio Attorney General, and such other suits, matters, and controversies, as the

prosecuting attorney is required to prosecute within or without the county, in the probate court, court of common pleas and the court of appeals.  In conjunction with the Ohio Attorney General, the prosecuting attorney shall prosecute cases arising in his county by a special prosecutor or by the Ohio Attorney General.

In every case of conviction, the prosecuting attorney shall cause execution to be issued for the fine and costs, and faithfully urge the collection until it is effected or found to be impracticable to collect, which money shall be paid into the county treasurer.


The prosecuting attorney may participate as a member of the investigatory staff of an organized crime task force that has jurisdiction in that county, in an investigation of organized criminal activity under Ohio law.


The prosecuting attorney may pay a reward to a person who has volunteered any tip or information to a law enforcement agency in the county concerning a drug through related offense that is planned to occur, is occurring, or has occurred, in whole or in part, in the county. The prosecuting attorney may provide for the payment, out of the following sources, of rewards to a person who has volunteered tips and information to a law enforcement agency in the county concerning a drug through related offense that is planned to occur, is occurring, or has occurred, in whole or in part, in the county.


Further, the prosecuting attorney shall be the legal adviser of the board of county commissioners, board of elections, and all other county officers and boards, including all tax through supported public libraries, and any of them may require written opinions or instructions from the prosecuting attorney in matters connected with their official duties. The prosecuting attorney shall prosecute and defend all suits and actions which any such officer or board directs or to which it is a party, and no county officer may employ any other counsel or attorney at the expense of the county, except as provided by Ohio law.


The prosecuting attorney shall be the legal adviser for all township officers in the county, except in limited situations.

While still a small office compared to other counties in Ohio, the Fayette County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office is organized into six main divisions: Criminal, Juvenile, Civil & Government Services, Appellate, Victim Services & Administrative.   At present, the office has three attorneys, three clerical staff, and a victim services provider.


Criminal Division


The Criminal division has the responsibility to serve the criminal docket of the Common Pleas court in the prosecution of all its criminal cases. It also addresses issues of extradition, bindovers from the County Municipal Court, and post conviction relief.


Juvenile Division


The Juvenile Division has the responsibility to serve the docket of Fayette County’s Lone Juvenile Court.  It addressees delinquency, traffic, dependency, neglect and unruly cases as well as adult and permanent custody cases from the counties children services.


Civil and Government Services Division


The Civil and  Government Services division has the responsibility to serve the civil docket of the Fayette County Courts in which the county, any of its boards or the county townships are a party.  As well, the division represents  these clients in all administrative law matters, bankruptcy & collections, & taxation.  The government services function is to advise and assist all county officers the various county boards and township officers in carrying out their duties.  This includes attending meetings, reviewing contracts & rendering opinions.


Appellate Division


The appellate division handles all appeals from the courts and boards of the county & criminal courts.  The division initiates and responds to appeals that are filed in the 12th District Court of Appeals for Ohio, The Ohio Supreme Court, Federal District, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals and the United States Supreme Court.


Victim Witness Division


The Victim Witness Division has the responsibility to aid and assist the victims of crime in overcoming the adverse effects of their victimization from cases originating in the Common Pleas Court and the Juvenile Court.




The administrative division has the responsibility of supporting the office in its daily functions.  Supplying all other divisions with needed supplies and data entry support. Further, the division forecasts the needs of the other divisions and attempts to meet those needs in a timely manner.


Contact person:   email:  jess.weade@fayette-co-oh.com

Prosecuting Attorneys of Fayette County, Ohio

Jess Weade


David B. Bender


Steven H. Eckstein


John H. Roszmann


James A. Kiger


Otis R. Hess, Jr.


Rollo M. Marchant


W. S. Paxson


Charles J. Schwart


W. S. Paxson


A. Newton Downing


Norman L. McLean


W. S. Paxson


Ray R. Maddox


Harry M. Rankin


Thomas S. Maddox


Pope Gregg


Ed L. Rush


Charles A. Reid


William B. Rogers


Nye Gregg


Robert C. Miller


Frank G. Carpenter


Ace Gregg


A. R. Creamer

2011 ------- Current


2005 through 2011


1993 through 2004


1984 through 1992


1974 through 1983


1973 through 1973


1961 through 1972


1940 through 1962


1939 through 1940


1938 through 1939


1935 through 1938


1931 through 1935


1927 through 1931


1921 through 1927


1917 through 1921


1913 through 1917


1908 through 1913


1903 through 1908


1897 through 1903


1894 through 1897


1891 through 1894


1885 through 1891


1880 through 1885


1874 through 1880


1872 through 1874

Madison Pavey


H. B. Maynard


J. B. Priddy


Marshal J. William


Madison Pavey


Marshal J. Williams


Mills Gardner


Robert M. Briggs


David M. Jones


Nelson Rush


Samuel F. Kerr


Bernam Martin


Alfred S. Dickey


Wade Loofborrow


Samuel F. Kerr


Robert Robinson


Wade Loofborrow


Benjamin G. Leonard/

Wade Loofborrow


Benjamin G. Leonard


Wade Loofborrow


Benjamin G. Leonard


Wade Loofborrow


Samuel Buck


Wade Loofborrow



1870 through 1872


1868 through 1870


1866 through 1868


1864 through 1866


1862 through 1864


1860 through 1862


1855 through 1860


1853 through 1855


1851 through 1853


1847 through 1851


1843 through 1847


1841 through 1843


1839 through 1841


1837 through 1839


1835 through 1837


1833 through 1835


1833 through 1833


1831 through 1833



1827 through 1831


1824 through 1827


1823 through 1824


1822 through 1823


1819 through 1822


1818 through 1819


prior to 1818